PDA

View Full Version : Naive MMO question

DANTEIL
09-25-2009, 01:21 PM
So not only am I a complete newbie to DDO, but I'm new to MMOs in general. I played PnP AD&D back in the day, and was very excited when I learned about the free-to-play DDO and immediately signed up. I've been enjoying it so far -- am only 2nd level, but recently made it to Stormreach, trying to figure out what quests to do next, etc. etc.

But I've been reading these forums trying to get an understanding of how this all works (and there's a lot to learn!) and the one thing that I've been amazed to find out is that pretty much the only way to advance far in this game seems to be to do the same dungeon/quest over and over and over and over, in order to get the XP/loot you need. Is that right? I know that this may just be my personal preference, but that just sounds incredibly boring to me. I like the exploration/discovery/survival part of the game and just can't imagine having to go through the same fights/traps again and again. Once I've cleared an area I like the feeling of accomplishment that it's done and I don't want to return to it again. Even the idea of doing it again on a harder level/more monsters doesn't seem appealing.

So is this just an aspect of how MMO play works? Are there ways to advance without repeatedly doing the same quests over and over? Am I better off giving up on DDO once I've done everything I can?

If the answer is 'yes,' well, I'll still enjoy it in the meantime :)

Largo_Kyber
09-25-2009, 01:37 PM
If you want to continue to play for "Free" then yes in order to gain the Turbine Points
to purchase adventure packs you will have to gind out the same content. This is by design.

However, if you pay a sub or purchase adventure packs from the store then you can level to 20 without ever repeating a quest.

Generally speaking there are many quests that you will want to repeat many times- particularly near the end game. You repeat them for crafting ingredents, raid loot,