PDA

View Full Version : Ranger a good class?

castion99
09-21-2009, 11:44 AM
I have a wizard in DDO currently and I was thinking of doing a ranger as well but are they a decent class?

I tried one for a couple of levels and they just seemed not good as far as melee goes. Obviously if I am not in a group I will be meleeing a bit. I had made an elf ranger (I think the path is tempest).

Any ideas? I am new to DDO

tihocan
09-21-2009, 12:58 PM
Rangers are extremely good melees (I would say the best, but it may start a debate I don't want to get into ;)).

Avonwey
09-21-2009, 01:00 PM
Rangers are the best. No debate.

dasein18
09-21-2009, 01:02 PM
Sometimes they can be neutral. But lawful good is good.

Noctus
09-21-2009, 01:21 PM
Rangers are a very good class, if they are melee-focused builds!

Ranger != Archer.

and

Archer = DPS-Gimp 100secs out of 2min.

dasein18
09-21-2009, 01:24 PM
On a serious note.. love playing my ranger build. Give the rangers a try. If you get bored roll up something different like a caster or cleric to see the differences. Sometimes trying a different class makes you realize how much you like your original class choice.

castion99
09-21-2009, 01:28 PM
So I should focus on the melee abilities and feats?

So is using a bow not useful for a ranger then? Or just not very good.

Also what about rogues in comparison.

Angelus_dead
09-21-2009, 01:50 PM
So is using a bow not useful for a ranger then? Or just not very good.
A ranger should always have bows and arrows with him, and they should be used whenever the time is right.

But the key thing to understand is that it's usually not the right time to use bows. You should basically use bows for 20 seconds every 2 minutes after about level 7 (when you gain Manyshot). Aside from Manyshot, bow combat is almost always inferior to melee.

castion99
09-21-2009, 01:53 PM