PDA

View Full Version : I thought you could "dodge" attacks manually?

Kulharin
09-09-2009, 09:56 PM
Curious... I just started playing and the game boasts that it is an action style combat system where you can "dodge" attacks... Yet in the initial starting quest I noticed that even while running away with a great distance between me and my opponent, as well as side stepping their melee attacks, I was still getting hit regardless as if I was just standing still like most typical mmorpgs... This through me off a bit... If there is a large enough distance between me and my opponent and I am strafing there attacks, why am I still getting hit and taking damage? is this normal? If so how is that an action combat system if moving doesn't help you avoid being hitting...

Lithic
09-09-2009, 10:01 PM
The dodging refers more to missile attacks like bows as well as ray magic such as scorching ray and the eyebeams of beholders. Note that those beholders have a targeting lazer that will follow you, but their actual beam can miss by a decent margin if you are dodging eratically.

In melee, the best example of dodging is against giants. They have a stomp attack that you can see coming and run back out of range before it hits you. Some critters like wights and wildmen have a special attack that requires they do a backjump before, so you can avoid those as well.

The normal attacks of most critters are difficult, but not impossible to avoid with movement. Usually it is not worth trying as their attacks will often hit anyway, and you spend so much time dodging that you won't be killing. The examples I listed above though are great times to practice dodging.

Spells especially can be made to fizzle by jumping over your oponent's head and getting behind them as they cast.

Riorik
09-09-2009, 10:07 PM