PDA

View Full Version : Moving with mouse.

khayman090
09-06-2009, 06:29 PM
Yes I am a noob and this is a noob question. Possibly pointless one but I would really like to play this game because I love D&D and the graphics and gameplay of this game are extremely great. However there is one thing that is basically the dealbreaker for me. The inability to make it so that you can move solely with the combination of mouse buttons 0+1 to go forward or even one of them to go forward and one to scan, but would preffer if both to move forward and can scan while moving. Since all the games I have played as of late have had this possibility I have come accustomed to this playstyle and really hate keyboard moving since it is generally not as smooth. Also mapping the mouse 2-4 buttons to the move forward are just not an option since it is heavily uncomfortable however I do usually use mouse button 4 for backwards. Please is there anything one can do to get around this and if not is there any future updates/patches that they are looking into this option for. Any info would be appreciated.

Noctus
09-06-2009, 07:10 PM
Just a general hint:

The combat in DDO is much, much more dynamic than in other online games. Not using the keyboard for movement will make you loose a lot of combat capabilities.

I personally use the mouse to move around in the city (with mosue button 3 and 4), but once you will be involved in fights in the higher levels you will run into problems if you are so stiff when using only the mouse.
In combat regularly outperformed ultra strong barbarians and though fighters on my bard or even 14 STR wizard, because the other players were using far suboptimal controlling methods for their characters. You can see this when they turn slowly in place, never move sideways, or on casters stand still for 2 secs before getting off an aimed spell. While the monsters move about and they have problems following them.

Socialized
09-22-2009, 07:14 PM