PDA

View Full Version : Newb question: auto-attack

ciep
09-05-2009, 09:56 AM
So from a bit of playing (and I'm new to MMO play, not just DDO), I gather that most don't use/like the auto-attack feature. As a melee character at lower levels, I actually found this useful/less tiring: auto-attack on, tab and rotate to hit mobs (on solo play at least), freedom from constant mouse clicking to try to flank or use a hotkey.

So my question is: how do experienced players actually use their mouse/keyboard when confronting a mob? What do you change from the default keyboard mappings? There's a ton of info on these boards about the meta-data around fighting (stacking Attack/AC bonuses, weapons of awesomeness, feats galore, etc), but what is actually effective clicking strategy?

Thanks!

Caldur
09-05-2009, 09:59 AM
I'm a noob too, and I've found that for me I seem to hit faster and easier if I just hold down the right-mouse button. I have to have a bit more control with ammo-based weapons, but wands certainly fire faster than trying to click their buttons, and I don't have to worry about accidentally shooting something far away.

coolpenguin410
09-05-2009, 10:05 AM
I tend to just hold my mouse button down for attacking regular trash mobs. The reason being is in the event I want to click on something I don't want to attack. For example, certain breakable cause damage. This is even more important if you have a ranged weapon and you're trying NOT to get a monster's attention.

For high HP bosses, I throw on auto-attack so my mouse is free to do other things, like click potions, buffs, etc.

When all is said and done, it's really just a situational convenience. Eventually, you'll develop your own style.

SangRahl
09-05-2009, 06:21 PM
As a long-time MMO player, I started just using the AutoAttack button... It worked great for taking out low-level mobs as they approached: as soon as they get in range, they're cut down.