PDA

View Full Version : Random Traps

Tharris
01-15-2009, 03:39 PM
I am having heaps of FUN on my third come back to the game. I have rolled a new toon, and loving going through the quests (albiet at times when I am a lower level than when I levelled other toons), and its a CHALLENGE.

I named the title random traps cos I would like to know how hard would it be to code all the dungeons so the traps and maybe even the mobs are random.

Rares in explorer areas spawn randomly, can't traps be given the same treatment? Is there a technical reason this is not possible??? Could the mobs be changed so your not always 100 % sure what immunities to have running??? Of course having mummies spawn in an outdoor area with no tombs nearby would be wrong, and not in keeping with flavour, but I hope you get what I mean here.

With my stupid memory, even after not playing a quest in 8 months, and even then only having run it a couple of times, I can remember where most traps are (I did a degree without taking a page of notes, and remember whole movie scripts). And even if I don't know exactly where it is, there will often be a helpful player bouncing up and down by the wall where the trap box is.

I always try and run new quests when MODS come out with people who have not tested on Risia, or run it before I could log in owing to work and RL etc. It is the time I enjoy the game the most.

With an element of random danger in older quests, would not all the content have a new feel all over again????

If you don't agree with my thoughts, thats your perogative, and am sure there are arguments that can be made both ways. But my main question, now I get to it, is about the programming/technical issues around this. Is it too hard and/or waste of resource???

Draccus
01-15-2009, 03:42 PM
I named the title random traps cos I would like to know how hard would it be to code all the dungeons so the traps and maybe even the mobs are random.