PDA

View Full Version : Multi-Class as a second class citizen

WhiteKnight4u
01-18-2008, 12:32 AM
Hi,

I have been playing for a few months now and have noticed an issue with trying to play a true multi class, by "True" I mean keeping the levels close for each class. Many groups I have encountered will not ask you to join because you can't yet access a specific spell or feat because you don't have the levels and since your multi-classed you never will. Also, you are penalized in quests, especially solo quests because you character is level 6, but your individual levels are either 3/3 or 2/2/2 and you don't have the skills a normal level 6 would have.

It may make more sense to set your character level not based on levels but based overall on your highest level. So a character who is 4/2/2 would be treated as a level 4 character for the purposes of quests until you are able to advance a class above 4. Their individual advancement would remain as 4,2 or 2 for the respective class advancement. I understand this may take longer for a multi-class to raise levels, but once they did raise levels they would have the power and skills they deserve for taking the time to level multiple classes. A character who is a level 8 fighter, level 7 rouge and level 6 wizard should be able to access all their skills, they have earned them, but under the current rules you will never be able to advance a multi class beyond 8/8 or 5/5/6.

MrCow
01-18-2008, 12:49 AM
Some classes make good (synergetic) splits with other classes.

Some classes make bad (mismatched) splits with other classes.

Such is the way of the DDO system and, more importantly, the pen and paper system. *Shrugs*