PDA

View Full Version : Quest design of the Month (Volume 1)

ccheath776
12-13-2007, 10:27 AM
Introduction

Good Day stormreach players.
This will be the first month of my new feature that I will be supplying to the community.
I will call it CC's quest design of the month.
Every month I will design and release a quest design that I would like to see added to DDO.
I am an aspiring game designer that is learning how to build and design different aspects in games and I am going to school to learn this.
To help with me with this cause I felt it would be good to use the knowledge i have gained and build some quests for DDO. Now whether they actually are made into quests is not my point. Its only to give me some practice in doing this and maybe give the DDO design team some new ideas for DDO quests.
These first few will be quest designs only. It takes a different kind of design plan for something like an adventure area but I want to focus on quests for the time being.
Note: Some aspects may not be Canon with eberron simply because I may not know a name or place. I felt it best just to get it on paper and corrections to bring it in line with eberron can be made at another time. This is only draft designs and this should be remembered when reading them.

Each design I produce will have the following aspects.
- Design document: This basically lays out what the quest consists of, storyline, a short description of the quest, and lists any objectives or special notes.

- Monster Manual: This will list out the different enemies that the player will fight and will include the stats, CR rating, and detailed aspects such as weaponry or special abilities.

- StoryBoard: This will be a series of pictures to show the landscape, storyline, and some important scenes of the quest.

- Technical Document: Will include scripting locations, sound requirements, size measurements, etc..