PDA

View Full Version : Why human?

ErgonomicCat
11-06-2007, 04:53 PM
In PnP, I play basically nothing but humans. Occasionally I'll roll some odd +1 ECL critter, but pretty much, it's humans.

In DDO, I only have one human, and that's just because I didn't want another dwarf.

Is there a niche for humans in DDO? My first sorc was human, but Drow and WF really make so much better choices. I find that I have far too many elves, for the rapier bonuses, and dwarves, for the dwarven toughness.

I think the main problem is that DDO just doesn't have enough gotta take 'em feats yet, so that bonus feat ends up being excess baggage most of the time. So where do humans really shine? A pure class barb might benefit from the extra feat, and +1 skill is basically a free +2 int, but either my skills are int based (rogue), I need 13 int anyway (ce), or skills aren't that important.

I really like the human versatility enhancements, but I'm not good with remembering to use them when I need 'em.

Cowdenicus
11-06-2007, 07:21 PM
In PnP, I play basically nothing but humans. Occasionally I'll roll some odd +1 ECL critter, but pretty much, it's humans.

In DDO, I only have one human, and that's just because I didn't want another dwarf.

Is there a niche for humans in DDO? My first sorc was human, but Drow and WF really make so much better choices. I find that I have far too many elves, for the rapier bonuses, and dwarves, for the dwarven toughness.

I think the main problem is that DDO just doesn't have enough gotta take 'em feats yet, so that bonus feat ends up being excess baggage most of the time. So where do humans really shine? A pure class barb might benefit from the extra feat, and +1 skill is basically a free +2 int, but either my skills are int based (rogue), I need 13 int anyway (ce), or skills aren't that important.

I really like the human versatility enhancements, but I'm not good with remembering to use them when I need 'em.

34 wisdom clerics.

Lithic