PDA

View Full Version : How to make reporting spammers easy

NiasTrams
10-26-2007, 05:41 AM
I am not a programmer and not sure how hard it would be to set this up, but make it so whenever a player receives a tell or mail from a spammer all they need to do is right click the message or mail and an option to send to an option to send message/mail to DDO official pops up for quick, simple and accurate reporting of spammers.

Only five servers now, have 24 hour live coverage of reported spamming, that station gets set-up so that all reports are received there. They have software that quickly tracks character name to players account and pulls up accounts e-mail address, all accounts associated with that e-mail address are frozen. And follow up further by having an automated letter sent to the server asking they freeze said accounts for violating DDO's TOS (most likely a free e-mail account server like yahoo, aol or something similiar that require an existing e-mail account to get an e-mail account; yes, I know these could be made from bogus info last year, but maybe things are getting better). This may not stop spammers, but if DDO is as committed as they have claimed in the past, these efforts should greatly slow them down if not stopping them. Also assign a person to research the addresses these spammers are giving and if inside a country that supports protecting copyright material, file a claim within that country to have the servers shut down.

1.---spammer sends me tell or mail

2.---I right click tell or mail and it is sent to a DDO admin

3.---DDO admin types name from tell or mail into master account server
-----(I hope it is a seperate system)

4.---account info is obtained, mainly looking for e-mail address and all accounts using said
-----e-mail address and freezes them all immediately

5.---Admin forwards simple report of banning to man who goes nuts because he is assigned