PDA

View Full Version : No more Aero



ToyVIP
09-27-2007, 06:29 PM
ok, before the update, i used to still be able to run windows aero while in windows mode, as of today when i log into ddo, it tells me incompatible graphics and drops off to windows vista basic...

Ualac
10-05-2007, 09:10 PM
i had exactly the same problem (running on Vista Ultimate x64).. launching would tell me that ddo was doing something incompatible and vista would switch to Vista Basic so that it would run. i would also get really blurry dark looking graphics which i thought was mod 5 and its new 'graphics engine'

anyhoo.. after a suggestion i set ddo to run in Win XP compatibility mode (right click icon, Properties, Compatibility tab), and now everything is back to normal.

cjseattle
10-06-2007, 07:33 PM
I tried this and did not get any errors.

However, with the latest Mod 5, now I do not get any of the popup info windows on items or groups, so I have no idea what the item specs are without clicking to examine each item. Very frustrating.

I have tried disabling aero, running in windows xp compatibility mode. No change. I tried dxdiag and got "no problems found".


If I don't mess with any settings and I just run regular vista, I get the popup that it is switching to basic, and the incompatibility is something like Process ID 4688 with dndclient.exe

Osharan_Tregarth
10-06-2007, 07:43 PM
I tried this and did not get any errors.

However, with the latest Mod 5, now I do not get any of the popup info windows on items or groups, so I have no idea what the item specs are without clicking to examine each item. Very frustrating.

I have tried disabling aero, running in windows xp compatibility mode. No change. I tried dxdiag and got "no problems found".


If I don't mess with any settings and I just run regular vista, I get the popup that it is switching to basic, and the incompatibility is something like Process ID 4688 with dndclient.exe

Just a quick thought... there are some ui settings that can disable the popup displays, and I've seen a few people having issues with the settings there. You might want to double check the settings, and compare them with someone else's settings.

Also, just to make sure I'm understanding you correctly.. You aren't having issues like the ones described in the known issues thread, are you? You are having problems with the actual pop-ups not "popping"?

NEW - When examining an item, the full description of effects are not shown automatically. To see description of effects, you'll need to hover over the effect name. (See Figure 1, below.)
http://forums.ddo.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=126&d=1190939043

cjseattle
10-07-2007, 03:25 AM
Just a quick thought... there are some ui settings that can disable the popup displays, and I've seen a few people having issues with the settings there. You might want to double check the settings, and compare them with someone else's settings.

Also, just to make sure I'm understanding you correctly.. You aren't having issues like the ones described in the known issues thread, are you? You are having problems with the actual pop-ups not "popping"?

http://forums.ddo.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=126&d=1190939043

Appreciate it. I kept getting these popups in the upper left (think tooltips) and I disabled. Apparently this disabled everything. I re-checked in UI settings and that fixed it.

Still having issues with Aero disabled like OP.

Osharan_Tregarth
10-07-2007, 05:29 AM
Appreciate it. I kept getting these popups in the upper left (think tooltips) and I disabled. Apparently this disabled everything. I re-checked in UI settings and that fixed it.

Still having issues with Aero disabled like OP.

Well, glad I could help with part of your problem....

I've avoided upgrading???(if you could call it that) to vista, so I don't have any real experience with any problems that might arise from that specific operating system.