PDA

View Full Version : Critical Hit Multiplier Question



FluffyDucky
09-10-2007, 12:30 PM
What portion of the damage done when you hit an opponent is multiplied by the critical hit multiplier when a critical hit is confirmed. For example, a 16 str rogue backstabs a kobold with his +2 Flaming Heavy Mace of Good. He does the following damage:

1-8 - 1d8 Heavy Mace
2 - +2 Enchantment
3 - +3 Strength Bonus
1-6 - 1d6 Flaming
1-6 - 1d6 Good
2-12 - 2d6 sneak attack
---------
10-37 - total

If he confirms a critical hit which of the various damages listed above get multiplied by the x2 modifier? Is it the entire 10-37 points of damage that gets doubles or only a portion and which portion if it is not all. My guess is the first three items get doubled but not the flaming, good or sneak attack damage.

Seeker weapons add their bonus on critical hits but it is added before or after the multiplier. Would a +3 seeker weapon with a x2 critical multiplier do an extra 3 points of damage or would it be 3x2 for 6 extra points damage on a critical hit?

linaewen
09-10-2007, 12:36 PM
EVERYTHING that is not a dice is multiplied (except for the standard damage of the weapon)

so with your example:

1-8 - 1d8 Heavy Mace (base damage multiplied)
2 - +2 Enchantment (enhancement multiplied)
3 - +3 Strength Bonus (STR multiplied)
1-6 - 1d6 Flaming (additional dice not multiplied)
1-6 - 1d6 Good (additional dice not multiplied)
2-12 - 2d6 sneak attack (additional dice not multiplied)
----------------------------------------------------
total damage = 2d8 + 4 + 6 + 4d6

or if you prefer 16-50 :)

as for seeker, it is a very nice ability (hence the value of a bloodstone) as it applies its bonus before to confirm the crit and as such is multiplied according to the weapon (and it is not a dice so the rule applies anyway )

taitbb
09-10-2007, 12:37 PM
The critical is entirely on the total damage , once added together.

So in your example, the entire 10-37 damage is critical ( ie 20 - 72 damage)

Note, seeker is a bonus to confirm the critical, and does not effect damage output.

In DDO, you roll to hit.

If you hit in the critical range (19-20, or whatever), a 2nd roll is made. If this lands as a hit (but does not have to be a critical), then the original critical is confirmed, giving you double damage. If this 2nd roll missed, the critical would not be confirmed, and you would not do X2 damage, only normal.

Seeker is a bonus to the above mentioned 2nd confirm critical roll. Not critical damage, nor even is it bonus to-hit to your initial swing.

taitbb
09-10-2007, 12:39 PM
I stand corrected, on the additional damage types.
Thank you



EVERYTHING that is not a dice is multiplied (except for the standard damage of the weapon)

so with your example:

1-8 - 1d8 Heavy Mace base damage multiplied
2 - +2 Enchantment enhancement multiplied
3 - +3 Strength Bonus STR multiplied
1-6 - 1d6 Flaming additional dice not multiplied
1-6 - 1d6 Good additional dice not multiplied
2-12 - 2d6 sneak attack additional dice not multiplied
----------------------------------------------------
total damage = 2d8 + 4 + 6 + 4d6

or if you prefer 16-50 :)

Mad_Bombardier
09-10-2007, 12:39 PM
The critical is entirely on the total damage , once added together.

So in your example, the entire 10-37 damage is critical ( ie 20 - 72 damage)Nope.

linaewen has it 100% correct. Only physical damage is multiplied for crits.

Hvymetal
09-10-2007, 12:44 PM
Nope.

linaewen has it 100% correct. Only physical damage is multiplied for crits. I wish.... mmmmm critical multiplier on a lv 14 Rogues sneak attack using a light pick:) mmmmmmm
:D :cool:

sigtrent
09-10-2007, 12:46 PM
I believe bane damage is multiplied in a crit, although I'm not 100% certain of that. It is the only added damage dice I'm aware of that gets multiplied.

Mad_Bombardier
09-10-2007, 12:51 PM
I believe bane damage is multiplied in a crit, although I'm not 100% certain of that. It is the only added damage dice I'm aware of that gets multiplied.Nope. Bane is added on just like the rest.

FluffyDucky
09-10-2007, 12:57 PM
I believe bane damage is multiplied in a crit, although I'm not 100% certain of that. It is the only added damage dice I'm aware of that gets multiplied.

I was going to ask about bane damage but forgot to put that in my original post. For some reason I thought bane damage was multiplied while other 'extra' damage (fire, ice, acid, good, etc.) was not. Does anyone else know if bane damage is multiplied. Using linaewen guide (dice damage is not multiplied) it would not be but perhaps it is a special case.

edit - I see this was answered as I typed.

Dwolf
09-10-2007, 03:34 PM
Actually, technically there are dice that are multiplied by the original crit multiplier - the burst type damage - the kind where the weapon says that if you crit the amount of extra dice of damage is dependant on the crit multiplier of the weapon.

But those are all special cases and are made obvious by the wording in the effect description.

Mad_Bombardier
09-10-2007, 03:38 PM
Burst weapons do not multiply anything, they simply add extra damage dice. And it's displayed clearly as +X extra damage, so you can see. The burst damage dice are not multiplied, but rather add different extra damage amounts based on the crit multiplier of the weapon.

Dwolf
09-10-2007, 05:17 PM
Semantics dear Mad. The only reason they had to word burst weapons the way they did is that they are intrinsically an exception to the "extra dice don't multiply" rule. They chose to word them the way they did in order to avoid confusion. It adds up to the same thing. Really.

Snike
09-10-2007, 06:06 PM
The +2 from Righteousness multipled? Isn't really an extra dice but has that elemental feel to it.

Aranticus
09-10-2007, 07:40 PM
weapon damage with a flaming burst longsword of pure good on a normal hit is as follows

(weapon damage + str enhancement + weapon specialisation + bard song + weapon enhancement) + elemental damage + good damage + sneak attack

same weapon on a crit

[2 x (weapon damage + str enhancement + weapon specialisation + bard song + weapon enhancement + seeker] + elemental damage + elemental burst damage + good damage + sneak damage

bane damage is an additional effect and will not be multiplied by a crit

seeker is more than just for confirming crit. when you get a crit, it gets applied to the damage before its multiplied, hence the worth of the bloodstone

Aranticus
09-10-2007, 07:54 PM
Quoted from Samera

"The bonus from Seeker now also adds to the base damage of the weapon on critical hits (before multiplication). Beware Seeker Heavy Picks."

Release notes 4.1

Mad_Bombardier
09-11-2007, 08:42 AM
The +2 from Righteousness multipled? Isn't really an extra dice but has that elemental feel to it.Righteousness is a weapon affix, but is added to the physical damage and multiplied for crits. :)

Bizbag
09-11-2007, 08:47 AM
Nope. Bane is added on just like the rest.

The +2d6 is not multiplied, but the extra +2 to attack/damage IS multiplied in.

Mad_Bombardier
09-11-2007, 08:49 AM
The +2d6 is not multiplied, but the extra +2 to attack/damage IS multiplied in.Yes. Yes, it is. Thank you for clarifying. :)