PDA

View Full Version : Vista crashing when I run DDO



noneill
09-09-2007, 10:21 AM
Hi, I just bought a new PC from cyberpowerpc.com and it has windows vista home premium, every time I run ddo it crashes me to the BSOD.

Here is the error, anybody else have this problem:

Log Name: System
Source: Microsoft-Windows-WER-SystemErrorReporting
Date: 9/8/2007 10:49:44 PM
Event ID: 1001
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Ned-Game-PC
Description:
The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x00000101 (0x00000061, 0x00000000, 0x826c7120, 0x00000001). A dump was saved in: C:\Windows\MEMORY.DMP.


Here is the system summary from MSINFO32:

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium
Version 6.0.6000 Build 6000
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name NED-GAME-PC
System Manufacturer System manufacturer
System Model System Product Name
System Type X86-based PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz, 2666 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD ASUS P5N-E SLI ACPI BIOS Revision 0703, 8/9/2007
SMBIOS Version 2.4
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.0.6000.16407"
User Name Ned-Game-PC\Ned
Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
Total Physical Memory 2,045.94 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.06 GB
Total Virtual Memory 4.21 GB
Available Virtual Memory 2.92 GB
Page File Space 2.29 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys



Here is the first part of the DXDIAG, I have all of it but not sure it all that is needed? I can post it if needed.


------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/9/2007, 11:08:45
Machine name: NED-GAME-PC
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_gdr.070627-1500)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
System Model: System Product Name
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Page File: 1246MB used, 3064MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 10
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 32bit Unicode



I tried plugging in some usb headphones when I first launched DDO and then I noticed alt-tab did not work, the headphones did not work and then I got the BSOD shortly. I tried the headphones without DDO and they still don't work. I have tried DDO without the headphones and it crashes every time within a few minutes. Not a single crash unless DDO is running. Tried the clicking on more online help from microsoft in the event viewer but they have nothing. I have seen some posts referencing issues with DDO, Vista and sound cards but haven't found any posts telling what to do, maybe my search-fu is weak but I can't find anything to help fix it. I do plan on getting a soundblaster card eventually, if the integrated audio is causing the problem, I will get one as soon as I can.

Thanks

noneill
09-11-2007, 11:07 PM
I updated the sound drivers and I played Sunday night, I crashed every hour or so that was an improvement. None of the front panel usb, firewire or headphone plugs worked though. I opened it up and none of them were connected. I connected the usb and firewire and they work fine. The audio stuff had a wire bundle with an AC97 connector or a HD Audio connector. The mb has HD audio but the only mb receptacle I could find was an AAFP. It can take either the AC97 or the HD Audio connector, I tried both, the front panel audio still does not work. Maybe I should not have plugged anything n that AAFP slot because now it crashes (BSOD) every 10 minutes when running ddo. I tried LOTRO and left it running for 45 minutes while I did something else and it was frozen when I checked on it, has to reboot through the reset switch. I will have to try some non-turbine games and see what happens. When not gaming it never crashes. Left it on when I went to work today and it was fine when I got home. Started DDO, crash.
Have tried some more monitoring programs and added a frsh air intake fan next to the video card, mb temps run 38 C to low 40's. Wondering if I get a SB card if that will help. So I have this great gaming machine that runs quicken and IE without a hitch but crashed when I run games.

Sent my files to Turbine, they told me Vista isn't supported but they will look into it, that was Sunday, no word yet.

Sent an email to cyberpowerpc at the same time, haven't heard from them.

Tenkari_Rozahas
09-12-2007, 07:45 PM
Well, it would take turbine a while to figure out how to help you since the game isnt supportive of Vista yet, so who knows how long it would be... is there a compatibility option like there is with XP? if so, why not try to run the game in XP compatibility mode?

noneill
09-13-2007, 09:50 AM
Well, it would take turbine a while to figure out how to help you since the game isnt supportive of Vista yet, so who knows how long it would be... is there a compatibility option like there is with XP? if so, why not try to run the game in XP compatibility mode?


I should have checked if my favorite game was compatible with Vista before I bought a new pc but I didn't. I have Vista on my work laptop and have played DDO on it without crashing so I didn't expect problems. I haven't really played on it for long periods though and it is not bleeding edge components like in my new pc. I have the Gefore 8800 with 768 MB in the new one and a 28" viewsonic, the worst thing is how awesome it is when it is running and then crashing.

I ran NWN2 without crashing last night, it has froze up on LOTRO though.

They have been getting back to me once a day now, I sent them my DXDIAG file and then they had me install some beta video drivers, still crashed, this time with a Stop: 0X00000101 error. They requested my msinfo32 file and I just sent it.


What is the compatibity option? I see Microsoft has a thing called virtual PC which allows you to run other os's without dual booting but I would need to upgrade to Vista Ultimate to use it.

noneill
09-13-2007, 10:10 AM
Vista does have the compatibility option, I will try it when I get home. That would be great if it works !

Thanks Tenkari.

Impaqt
09-13-2007, 10:13 AM
Vista does have the compatibility option, I will try it when I get home. That would be great if it works !

Thanks Tenkari.


Make sure its set to "Run as Administrator" as well.

Recovery
09-13-2007, 11:04 AM
If the game is running it has nothing to do with permissions or firewalls... if the game is crashing at random time of the game you may have some faulty hardware. You said it was a new PC.

You memory may be bad.

Your video card may not be getting enough power to handle the load. ( i doubt that tho)

Your processer may also be bad.

You have enough power to run the game fine.

Do you have anything running in memory that you can disable?

noneill
09-13-2007, 11:30 AM
If the game is running it has nothing to do with permissions or firewalls... if the game is crashing at random time of the game you may have some faulty hardware. You said it was a new PC.

You memory may be bad.

Your video card may not be getting enough power to handle the load. ( i doubt that tho)

Your processer may also be bad.

You have enough power to run the game fine.

Do you have anything running in memory that you can disable?

I don't think I have much to disable, I got this pc from a game system company ( www.cyberpowerpc.com ) and it was nice and clean, not filled up with junk running in the background like a dell or hp. I have put a few things on myself (google pack, antivirus etc) but it was crashing before I put those on.

It is weird that it has never once crashed except when playing Turbine games. I will check some more games out. If it is hardware it might be the processor:


Windows Driver Kit: Driver Development Tools
Bug Check 0x101: CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT
The CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT bug check has a value of 0x00000101. This indicates that an expected clock interrupt on a secondary processor, in a multi-processor system, was not received within the allocated interval.

The PC I got for my wife about a year ago was a Dell and it came with bad memory but the stop error was clear on that and Dell's diagnostic program confirmed it so it was fairly quick and easy to get them to send out some new sticks. The downside of cyberpower is they don't have a utility like that but I suppose intel must have something I can download to check the processor, I will take a look.

NameisToad
09-13-2007, 02:47 PM
If it only crashes in Turbine games, you might want to download the latest version of SI Sandra and see if a burn-in will crash it. If not, then you know the crashes are entirely due to incompatibility between Vista and DDO.

There's a few people in here who play DDO on machines with Vista. Did anyone reading this have to do anything special to make that work?

noneill
09-13-2007, 04:13 PM
I will check out SI Sandra it looks like what I was looking for in a diagnostic utility. Also I picked up a Sound Blaster Xtreme Gamer sound card at lunch today, the integrated audio I have now doesn't have a plug for the front audio connections that my case has and this SB card does so I wanted to get that regardless. It is also a certified Vista card. I have been interested in Bioshock so I picked that up too, if I can run that and it doesn't crash then I will stop bothering with DDO for a while and see you guys once Mod 5 comes out :D .

Except Toad and my other Dedicated Teammates, I will keep playing Tuesday nights with my old PC if need be.

noneill
09-14-2007, 12:03 AM
Well things are looking better, I don't want to proclaim it fixed yet until I get some more testing but I did not have any crashes tonight. I installed the SoundBlaster Xtreme Gamer card tonight and updated all the drivers, it was late by the time I did this so I logged onto DDO, soloed Durks got a secret with a low level alt and then alt-tabed to the desktop to do some work. I would alt tab back now and then to move around but basically it was up for 1 1/2 hours without issue. I just logged off and am going to sleep after this post. Since it lasted that long tomorrow I will get in a group and see how it does playing for a few hours and especially when the system gets taxed during big battles.

The front panel audio jacks still don't work, you need an Intel HD front panel not an Intel-Compatible front panel. On the bright side I can use my USB headphones / mic because they actually sound great now, with the onboard audio they sounded horrible.


I downloaded the free Lite version of Sandra, it is pretty cool, if the SB card did not fix the problem I will buy the full version and run all the tests, the Lite version can't do the burn in test and some other things.

Dralik
09-16-2007, 03:14 AM
hey guys,

Well thanks for the info. but to let you all know This has got to be a vista > ddo issue. I was running xp last night and getting 70-90fps on my 7800 gt oc (bfg) machine.... Installed vista ultamite 64 bit today and now im at 15fps (with lower graphics settings). The entire rest of my machine runs 2x faster (i can finally use my dual core amd processor and all 4megs ram). So now im left in a bad spot reinstall xp for ddo or .... and please someone help me here find a way to make ddo work on vista ...........

Dralik
09-16-2007, 03:15 AM
btw,

A side note i crashed with vista as well..... pretty much as stated above

noneill
09-16-2007, 09:48 AM
Well, it crashed again this moring, I was in for about 1/2 hour, then BSOD Stop: 0X0000008E

This error could be bad ram, or need a bios update or some other hardware problem, or it could just be DDO. DDO is the only time I have BSOD. Lotro froze on me once but I was AFK so I am not sure what happened. I was leaving it running while I was in another room basically trying to stress it out. So I kind of have to throw that out as an anomlie since I didn't witness it.

I have played Bioshock without problem, NWN2 and Icewind Dale (I am going old school for my DnD now, lol).

I downloaded Memtest86+ v1.7 and ran it Friday for 16 passes without error so the ram should be ok but memtest could miss something. Ihave Corsair memory and that is the test they want run.

I think I will pay for the full SI Sandra version and try the burn in test. If it is a DDO problem then my bad for playing on an unsupported system but I need to find out if I do have a hardware problem. My Ram is from

flatlyne2001
09-16-2007, 09:53 AM
The front panel audio jacks still don't work, you need an Intel HD front panel not an Intel-Compatible front panel. On the bright side I can use my USB headphones / mic because they actually sound great now, with the onboard audio they sounded horrible.


Just a quick one, USB headphones do their own sound they don't rely on the installed sound card.

noneill
09-16-2007, 10:43 AM
Just a quick one, USB headphones do their own sound they don't rely on the installed sound card.

That is interesting. Well with the integrated audio the usb headphones sounded like tin cans and now they sound great. Maybe something else was fixed that helped them.

noneill
09-16-2007, 10:48 AM
I just tried the windows compatibility option and ran DDO under XP SP2. Instead od BSOD, It just rebooted after 1/2hour. Progress ?

I have upgraded SI Sandra and will try the burn in, if it passes that I think I have 3 options.

1. Upgrade to Vista ultimate and use virutal machine 2007 to run xp.
2. Install XP in a dual boot situation. I have 2 HD and have not used the 2nd one yet, so I could put XP on that.
3. Wait for MOD 5

noneill
09-16-2007, 11:56 AM
OK, I ran SI Sandra burn-in and my system passed, here is the report:


SiSoftware Sandra

Display on Screen
Connection : Local Computer
Device Type : Desktop
Board Temperature : 43.0°C (Min 43.0°C; Avg 43.0°C; Max 43.0°C)
CPU Temperature : 40.0°C (Min 40.0°C; Avg 40.0°C; Max 40.0°C)
Auxiliary Temperature : 25.0°C (Min 25.0°C; Avg 25.0°C; Max 25.0°C)
System Fan : 5000rpm (Min 5000rpm; Avg 5000rpm; Max 5000rpm)
CPU Fan : 2296rpm (Min 2296rpm; Avg 2296rpm; Max 2296rpm)
CPU DC Line : 1.36V (Min 1.36V; Avg 1.36V; Max 1.36V)
Aux DC Line : 3.31V (Min 3.31V; Avg 3.31V; Max 3.31V)
+5V DC Line : 4.87V (Min 4.87V; Avg 4.87V; Max 4.87V)
+12V DC Line : 11.42V (Min 11.42V; Avg 11.42V; Max 11.42V)
Standby DC Line : 4.95V (Min 4.95V; Avg 4.95V; Max 4.95V)
Battery DC Line : 3.12V (Min 3.12V; Avg 3.12V; Max 3.12V)
CPU Core Power : 58W (Min 58W; Avg 58W; Max 58W)

Run 1 executing...
Processor Arithmetic : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:50:08 AM...
Processor Arithmetic : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:51:27 AM.
Processor Multi-Media : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:51:27 AM...
Processor Multi-Media : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:52:47 AM.
Multi-Core Efficiency : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:52:47 AM...
Multi-Core Efficiency : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:53:47 AM.
Power Management Efficiency : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 11:53:47 AM...
Power Management Efficiency : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:14:26 PM.
File Systems : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:14:26 PM...
Error : 3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (G:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (H:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (I:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (J:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
File Systems : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:24:29 PM.
Physical Disks : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:24:29 PM...
Error : Hitachi HDT725050VLA (Fibre Channel) (D:) : Write Performance : Disk must be empty to be write-benchmarked.
Error : Hitachi HDT725050VLA (Fibre Channel) (C:) : Write Performance : Disk must be empty to be write-benchmarked.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (G:) : Read Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (G:) : Write Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (H:) : Read Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (H:) : Write Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (I:) : Read Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (I:) : Write Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (J:) : Read Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) (J:) : Write Performance : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Physical Disks : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:25:23 PM.
Removable Storage : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:25:23 PM...
Error : 3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : 3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (G:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (G:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (H:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (H:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (I:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (I:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (J:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Error : Removable Drive (J:) @ Generic STORAGE DEVICE (USB) : Cannot obtain drive information; check that a disk is in the drive and it is correctly formatted.
Removable Storage : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:26:10 PM.
CD-ROM and DVD : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:26:10 PM...
CD-ROM and DVD : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:30:20 PM.
Memory Bandwidth : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:30:20 PM...
Memory Bandwidth : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:30:40 PM.
Memory Latency : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:30:40 PM...
Memory Latency : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:33:01 PM.
Cache and Memory : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:33:01 PM...
Cache and Memory : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:37:25 PM.
Network Bandwidth : Started on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:37:25 PM...
Error : 236OLDAYER : D8CF4L91 : No reply from host. Host may be off-line.
Network Bandwidth : Finished on Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 12:37:41 PM.
Board Temperature : 49.0°C (Min 43.0°C; Avg 46.0°C; Max 49.0°C)
CPU Temperature : 40.0°C (Min 40.0°C; Avg 40.0°C; Max 40.0°C)
Auxiliary Temperature : 25.0°C (Min 25.0°C; Avg 25.0°C; Max 25.0°C)
System Fan : 5114rpm (Min 5000rpm; Avg 5057rpm; Max 5114rpm)
CPU Fan : 2296rpm (Min 2296rpm; Avg 2296rpm; Max 2296rpm)
CPU DC Line : 1.36V (Min 1.36V; Avg 1.36V; Max 1.36V)
Aux DC Line : 3.31V (Min 3.31V; Avg 3.31V; Max 3.31V)
+5V DC Line : 4.87V (Min 4.87V; Avg 4.87V; Max 4.87V)
+12V DC Line : 11.42V (Min 11.42V; Avg 11.42V; Max 11.42V)
Standby DC Line : 4.95V (Min 4.95V; Avg 4.95V; Max 4.95V)
Battery DC Line : 3.12V (Min 3.12V; Avg 3.12V; Max 3.12V)
CPU Core Power : 58W (Min 58W; Avg 58W; Max 58W)

Burn-in Computer
Finished Successfully : Yes

~Bandage
09-17-2007, 06:36 PM
Try this:
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=940105

It looks like a patch that may help using Vista in graphics intensive settings, like games.

Purridio
09-17-2007, 06:55 PM
I had very similar problems with Vista causing BSOD crashes in DDO. In my case, I fixed it by swapping out the RAM. Haven't crashed since.

noneill
09-17-2007, 10:32 PM
I have been running for 2 hours with one of my ram sticks. I am going to take that out and try the other one, I hope it crashes with that one, that seem to be a pretty clear case of bad ram. I am going to try the hotfix too.

noneill
09-18-2007, 07:51 AM
Running on the other stick without crashing.
Tried to apply the patch, it won't let me.

Still bad RAM possibility or bad MB or if I get the patch to apply will that fix it?
Stay tuned.

I have 4 RAM slots A1, A2, B1, B2. Could I use B1 and B2 instead of A1 and A2 ? I will probably try that. The problem is since it doesn't always crash quickly I have to try any combination for about 2 hours to figure it is ok.

Recovery
09-18-2007, 08:54 AM
I am glad you are getting closer. But my belief it is hardware related.

As for Vista. If you turn off UAC (User access Control), all you rpermission issues should be solved and turning off the Vista firewall should fix any other denial of service issues.

I have a laptop and a desktop both running vista and DDO just fine.

Also as someone previously said. I have a set of Logitech USB350 headphones and they do indeed use their own audio drivers for sound.

As for your front ports not working. Check you control panel and sound and make sure that the sound being used is directed to the front ports and not the back. I had that issue with my desktop. I had both front and back, but only the back worked. I went in there and re-directed to run of the front ones.

I would contact your PC builder and see if they can ship you out replacment memory to test with.

Good Luck

noneill
09-18-2007, 10:22 AM
I should mention that as I started playing other games longer they crashed too. Not BSOD but still crashed.

Sound is good now expect for that one port in front. It wasn't even connected from the factory, I connected it to the new sb card but the card states that is is only supports front Intel HD front panel not Intel compatible front panel so I am not worried about that anymore or at least not until I figure the rest out.

New nvidia drivers came out today, I downloaded them and removed the old ones, rebooted to safe mode, ran driver sweeper and ccleaner and then rebooted and installed the new ones. I must admit I did not do that previously. I should have becuase I used to do that on my old pc, I thought now that you can get those updates through windows update it was unneccessary, my bad :eek:

I also put the 2nd ram stick back in. On closer inspection the machine was set up using slots A2 and B2, when I tried one at a time I was using A2, the slots are black. A1 and B1 are yellow, I put them in A1 and B1 this time, I didn't find anything in the ASUS MB manual about which slot to use but you would think you would start at A1. ASUS support website has been down when I try it so I am not sure if it matters which ones you use. By that time I had to get to work so all I know is that it booted up fine in A1 and B1 and I will have to try DDO when I get home.

Also it turns out KB940105 was installed on 9/4/07, the day my system was shipped. I did not get it until 9/6/07. The update did not appear in my list of installed updates at the windows update area but when I went to the area where you can uninstall it, it was there. I might try uninstalling and installing it again. It looks like it was installed with a bunch of things at once, maybe that will help.

Theboz
09-18-2007, 02:34 PM
Running on the other stick without crashing.
Tried to apply the patch, it won't let me.

Still bad RAM possibility or bad MB or if I get the patch to apply will that fix it?
Stay tuned.

I have 4 RAM slots A1, A2, B1, B2. Could I use B1 and B2 instead of A1 and A2 ? I will probably try that. The problem is since it doesn't always crash quickly I have to try any combination for about 2 hours to figure it is ok.


I would try A1 and B1 on some mother boards you will not get DDR unless they are in the correct slots, thats how its on mine anyways.

noneill
09-18-2007, 03:01 PM
I was looking for info on asus mb (I got to the official site but couldn't find what I was looking for) and I came across a good website and a thread about the mb I have. I posted over there and have some things to try when I get home:

Overclock website (http://www.overclock.net/intel-motherboards/146744-asus-p5n-e-sli-650i-thread-348.html#post2743061)

I am not overclocking but the people over there know the mb in and outs.

noneill
09-19-2007, 07:20 AM
Well, I swapped the ram chips to the A1 and B1 slots, put new nvidia drivers on and turned off UAC all at once. I should have tried them one at a time but due to time constraints I did them all at once (as far as DDO session goes, I did have separate reboots). At 8 PM I had my weekly dedicated game session. I am happy to report that I played for 4 1/2 hours without any problems and logged off like a normal person when I was done. :)

Now, I still might time my ram instead of using the auto setting in the bios but I think I will enjoy playing for awhile.

noneill
09-20-2007, 05:14 PM
One other thing I did was to turn off legacy usb support in the bios. This was at the suggestion of the RAM manufacturer Corsair.
So
Turned off UAC
New Nvidia drivers (being carefull to clean old ones)
Turned off USB Legacy support
Moved Ram into A1 and B1 slots

No crashes !

Hope this helps someone else.

Zed
11-08-2007, 11:47 AM
I had similar problems on 2 different machines and went through pretty much everything you did. It turned out that one machine was having a heat problem. It runs fine now if I leave the case open and have a fan blowing on it (which is a bit of a nuisance).

My newer machine that I built from scratch out of frustration with the previous machine (before realizing it was just heat) had similar problems. I bought good parts including Crucial Ballistix RAM, GeForce 8800 Ultra, etc. I gave up on Vista and went back to XP. The crashes weren't quite as frequent but still there... turns out I had a bad stick of RAM which I discovered using Microsoft Memory Diagnostics. After swapping out the bad stick of RAM this machine rocks at 1920x1200 with full graphics enhancements. However, I still have to watch the heat... especially with the GeForce 8800 -- that card is smokin' hot in more ways than one.

You said your MB hits low 40's with the new fan? It was most likely overheating before the fan and maybe still is. I run Asus Probe all the time while gaming. You might want to try that to ensure it isn't a heat problem. I have variable speed fans in my case and I have to crank one up a notch to keep the MB temp within acceptable range (high 30's with the fan turned up but hits 45 without and then the warning sounds).

So, bottom line for me is both machines are now running Windows XP 64-bit without problems. I have a friend who is running Vista Ultimate with no problems (although we both found the audio to be quirky in Vista, as you have). Another friend is running Vista Ultimate and he has been having lots of problems... althought I suspect his may be a heat problem (he's running dual SLI cards).

flatlyne2001
11-08-2007, 12:01 PM
One other thing I did was to turn off legacy usb support in the bios. This was at the suggestion of the RAM manufacturer Corsair.
So
Turned off UAC
New Nvidia drivers (being carefull to clean old ones)
Turned off USB Legacy support
Moved Ram into A1 and B1 slots

No crashes !

Hope this helps someone else.

I'd be curious if you put the memory back in the other slots if it would crash again, you may just have bad slot on the motherboard. And with normal use not using as much memory as some games it may not be noticable until you start hitting the memory hard and heavy.

noneill
11-08-2007, 12:58 PM
I'd be curious if you put the memory back in the other slots if it would crash again, you may just have bad slot on the motherboard. And with normal use not using as much memory as some games it may not be noticable until you start hitting the memory hard and heavy.


I wonder about that too but since I have been gaming for almost 2 months now without crashing I am not curious enought to try it!

Sutek
11-08-2007, 01:34 PM
I had this problem too. Turned out to be the Video driver for me.