PDA

View Full Version : Permadeath guilds and their setup

Lethelyn
08-20-2007, 09:25 AM
I'm new to the concept of permadeath (to a point, I realize it's a "if you die and your cleric can't raise, TFB kinda deal) but I was wondering if any of you had any way of regulating what counts as a "death". My friends and I are thinking of starting up a perma death group, and I've been sitting here (as usual) thinking up "What if" scenarios.

I mean, I wouldn't say it's a fair "death" if, say... the cleric LD's. Or, what if someone aggros a huge mob and drags it back while some people are AFK?
I realize I'm probably worrying needlessly, but our group is a bunch of Zergers. Yes, going to this form of play will likely be difficult (to an extent)

Anyways, as I've said, I'm mostly looking for pointers/how some of the permadeath guilds regulate it and what kind of rules (if any) they have about what constitutes a legit "death"

Thanks in advance for any insight you might offer :)

Beherit_Baphomar
08-20-2007, 10:38 AM
Check out the Sublime...lemme see if I can getcha a link.

LINKAGE! (http://thesublimeguild.net/forums/)

They have the rules posted on that website somewhere. Of course, permadeth is more a personal play choice rather than hard, fast rules.

Lethelyn
08-20-2007, 02:11 PM
Thanks a bunch Beherit. :)

Spakerman
08-20-2007, 02:44 PM
I have to say that this appeals to me.

Think I'll be rolling up a char on Thelanis tonight.

parvo
08-20-2007, 03:48 PM
Hi,
I'm a long-time Sublime player and founder of the new Mortal Voyage Permadeath Guild.

Each guild may have particulars but the way we've played it, death is death. Lag deaths count. AFK deaths count. Falling off a bridge to your death in a city counts. The only deaths that don't count are known bug deaths, of which there are few. With large active guilds, that is the only fair way to do it. However, dedicated groups could easily for a group consensus in any given case.