View Full Version : stacking bonuses

08-09-2007, 08:49 PM
I haven't played PnP in a long time for D&D but I'm guessing the stacking rule is still in effect. Such as can'y use a ring of protection +1 if I'm already wearing +1 full plate and the like. (guess this rule doesn't apply to shields)

I know this as i was wearing a trinket that gave me +1 to str, found a ring that also gave +1 to str and it didn't stack.

What can stack with items?
Does this rule also apply to skills? ( wear all the haggle gear I can find while selling/vs only one item)

08-09-2007, 09:37 PM
Ring of Protection Stacks with +1 Full Plate (Ring is deflection, armor is armor)

Armor provides an armor bonus
Shields provide a shield bonus
Enhancement bonus is the form almost all stat items take, so you can't stack them with each other

General rule is item + feat + enhancement stack, but only the best of each.
Dodge items stack with each other, unless from the same source (i.e. two chattering rings)

08-09-2007, 09:51 PM
Non Stacking also applies to skills, so if you are wearing a +5 haggle item and a +3 haggle item, your total bonus is only +5, not +8. But, as the above post says, you can stack feat+item+enhancement. So you could have the rogue feat that improves haggle, a haggle item, and the line of haggle enhancements, and those would all stack together.

08-09-2007, 09:59 PM
Bascially no two bonuses of the same type stack with themselves with the exception of dodge bonuses. In DnD and DDO there are several different sources of bonuses like armor, deflection, luck, sacred, enhancement, feat, etc. Just read the in game tool tip descriptions of an item to find out what type of bonus it is.

08-10-2007, 12:13 PM
Most feats and enhancments stack with items, racial and class enhancements stack like elven dex and rogue dex. If you multi class class enhancements will not stack if the other class gets the same thing like fighter and barb intimidate will not stack.