PDA

View Full Version : Cannot get past update programs



Locheil
08-01-2007, 06:52 PM
Hi,

I cannot not get past update programs, all I get is a waiting message, followed by being timed out...

I've not played since the searing heights release. From the forums, it looks like I'm just trying to get the hotfix from last week... Are the update servers down because of the upcoming server merge ?

Thanks.

Karch
08-01-2007, 07:20 PM
You should still be able to get to the patch server. Is it possible to see your tracert to gls.ddo.com please?

Locheil
08-01-2007, 07:27 PM
Hi, thanks for the reply:

Tracing route to gls.ddo.com [206.16.13.87]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 206.16.13.87
2 13 ms 13 ms 12 ms
3 10 ms 9 ms 8 ms
4 10 ms 7 ms 8 ms
5 * * 9 ms
6 14 ms 11 ms 8 ms
7 10 ms 10 ms 7 ms
8 11 ms 8 ms 8 ms
9 74 ms 74 ms 74 ms
10 76 ms 79 ms 77 ms
11 76 ms 76 ms 75 ms
12 76 ms 74 ms 76 ms
13 74 ms 76 ms 75 ms
14 76 ms 73 ms 72 ms
15 77 ms 76 ms 77 ms
16 75 ms 76 ms 75 ms
17 75 ms 76 ms 77 ms
18 73 ms 73 ms 75 ms
19 81 ms 79 ms 80 ms
20 76 ms 74 ms 76 ms
21 77 ms 82 ms 76 ms 206.16.13.87

Trace complete.

Also, this is the message I get when it times out:

"The request timed out. The connection to this internet site took longer than the alloted time."

Thanks.

Karch
08-01-2007, 07:33 PM
Please try resetting your Internet Explorer security settings to help resolve this issue. To do this, Open Internet Explorer and click on Tools>Internet Options. In here click on the Security Tab and click on Default Level for all Web content zones. Also click on the Advanced tab and click Restore Defaults. Once this is done click Apply and OK.
Make sure you can visit both http://www.turbine.com and https://www.turbine.com (to test your security) using Internet Explorer, not another internet browser.
This should help resolve the issue for you. If you are running any popup blockers, antivirus scanners, or active spyware scanners, try disabling that. The fact that you have a complete timeout on

5 * * 9 ms 68.2.13.30

means that the problem may lie with your ISP, and you'll need to contact them.

Locheil
08-01-2007, 07:48 PM
I can get to both the sites you listed, but I still can not get the client to patch... it seems strange that I can connect, get past the examine programs( yea local, but the connect isn't)... any other tracerts I can run ?

Locheil
08-01-2007, 08:25 PM
I hooked up another computer and had no timeouts... I also get no timeouts on the machine that has DDO on that I"m trying to update.

Locheil
08-01-2007, 09:01 PM
I now get:

"Unable to connect to server"

Any other ideas ?

Recovery
08-01-2007, 10:04 PM
Check your firewall settings.

Windows firewall needs to be disabled or the dndlauncher.exe and dndclient.exe to the exception list

If it is Vista... disable UAC (user access control)

If you are on wireless, try a hard line

ALso try and reset your ip

go to a dos prompt and type ipconfig /release then hit enter

then type ipconfig /renew

that should reset your IP

Locheil
08-03-2007, 06:20 PM
Thanks for the ideas...

I believe the problem lies with my router playing up... looks like it maybe time to buy a new one...